Youth of Courage Joe Bowers with his family and comedian Russell Howard

Spirit of Fire 2015

The Charity’s 10th Spirit of Fire Awards took place at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge Hotel in London on October 2, 2015, honouring 10 worthy winners and a wealth of inspirational nominees.

Preceded by a reception with the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, Greg Clark MP, at No.10 Downing Street, the glitzy evening also reflected on the Charity’s foundation during the Blitz, with the stage built to resemble an Underground station in war-time London.

Hosted by BBC Newsreader Nicholas Owen and attended by a number of celebrities as well as VIP guests from across the fire community, awards and winners included:

Team of the Year: StrongArm Challenge

Best Newcomer: Sarah Lewis

Supporter of The Year, Martin Lown

Supporter of the Year: Martin Lown

Fire Service of the Year: Bedfordshire Fire and Rescue Service

Corporate Supporter: AutoGlym

Lifetime Achievement: Anthony Dale

Beneficiary of Courage: Peter Lau

Youth of Courage: Joe Bowers

Adult Hero: Gareth Salmon

Firefighter of the Year: Joe Thornton and Richard Jordan

More Stories