The last 12 months have presented even more unique challenges for our fire services community – but colleagues across the UK have stepped up like never before to face them as a team. And now we’re delighted to see some of them recognised in the 2022 New Year’s Honours list.

The list includes personnel from across the country, who have each been recognised for their support of their local communities, as well as our Charity.

“A huge congratulations to everyone across our fire services community who has been recognised in the New Year’s Honours list. It’s so well deserved,” says our Chief Executive Dr Jill Tolfrey. “The last year has once again presented new challenges for all fire and rescue service personnel across the country, so it’s fantastic to see so many recognised for their hard work and dedication in supporting their local communities, fellow colleagues and The Fire Fighters Charity.

“On behalf of everyone at the Charity, I send my best wishes and wholehearted thanks to all of you.”

You can see the full list of recipients from within the fire service below.

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Rabinder Singh Dhami, Prevention Manager, Shropshire Fire and Rescue Service. For services to Fire and Rescue.

Alan Gibson, fundraiser, The Fire Fighters Charity. For services to Charity and to the community.

Rebecca Jayne Jefferies, Head of Human Resources and Learning and Development, Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service. For services to Fire and Rescue.

Lindsay Sielski, Crew Manager, Lancashire Fire and Rescue Service. For services to Fire and Rescue.

Thomas Gordon Smyth, Board Member, Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service. For Public Service.

John Craig Wall, Group Manager, Cumbria Fire and Rescue Service. For charitable services.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Sean Patrick McCarry, Regional Commander, Community Rescue Service. For services to the community.

The Queen’s Fire Service Medals

John Andrew Buckley, Chief Fire Officer, Nottinghamshire Fire and Rescue Service.

Jennifer Elizabeth Griffiths, Group Manager, South Wales Fire and Rescue Service.

Sally Angeline Hammond, Group Manager, Suffolk Fire and Rescue Service.

Justin Johnston, Chief Fire Officer, Lancashire Fire and Rescue Service.

Nicholas Searle, Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Merseyside Fire and Rescue Service.

Remember to register for our new app, MyFFC, to see all our latest, exclusive content, share ideas, chat to like-minded others and be part of a community that’s tailored to you.

Register for MyFFC

More Stories